Our Country’s Good

A Nottingham Playhouse Theatre company production
in co-production with Ramps on the Moon.

Our Country’s Good is both a comedy and a powerful drama which shows us how we can escape the chains that bind us.

In 1787, ships each with over 700 convicts on board set sail on an eight month voyage. When they arrive in Australia, their survival is by no means certain: supplies are running out, the convicts are stealing food or trying to escape and the guards are threatening mutiny.

Our Country’s Good tells the extraordinary true story of a group of convicts and a young officer who rehearse and perform a play – Australia’s first theatrical production. With opposition from the officers and a leading lady who may be hanged, the odds are stacked against them.

Our Country’s Good is a touring production made in co‑production with Ramps on the Moon, whose previous collaborations over the last two years include the comedy hit The Government Inspector and a critically acclaimed version of The Who’s Tommy. The production features the creative use of audio description, captioning and British Sign Language interpretation. For more information visit rampsonthemoon.co.uk

NATIONAL TOUR DATES 2018: 

Friday 9 – Saturday 24 March
Nottingham Playhouse
0115 941 9419

Wednesday 28 March – Saturday 7 April
New Wolsey Theatre
01473 295 900

Wednesday 11 April – Saturday 21 April
West Yorkshire Playhouse
0113 213 7700

Wednesday 25 April – Saturday 5 May
Theatre Royal Stratford East
020 8534 0310

Wednesday 9 May – Saturday 19 May
Sheffield Theatres
0114 249 6000

Wednesday 23 May – Saturday 2 June
Birmingham Repertory Theatre
0121 236 4455

 

Credits
  • Director — Fiona Buffini
  • Designer — Neil Murray
  • Lighting Designer — Mark Jonathan
  • Composer/Sound Designer — Jon Nicholls
  • Associate Director — Simon Startin
Performance schedule
Partners
  • REfrQ-e8
  • NP-large-TIFF